What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas.
What happens in California, usually makes it way through the country.
Such will be the case with recently passed California AB 1522 “Paid Sick Leave”. AB 1522 takes effect July 1, 2015 and allows employees to accrue paid sick time that can be used when needed, but not paid out upon termination.
- Employees must work 30 hours per week
- Accrue 1 hour for every 30 hours worked
- Begins after 90 days of employment
- Can cap accrual at 48 hours (6 days)
- Can carry over year to year with some limitations
The new sick accrual must show up on wage statement and officially be used for the diagnosis, treatment, care of own or family members including sibling, grandparent or grandchild.
Employers in California will be required to display a poster that explains the new law and employee’s rights.